Song

Standard
From Steven Curtis Chapman’s “What Now”
I saw the face of Jesus in a little orphan girl
She was standing in the corner on the other side of the world
And I heard the voice of Jesus gently whisper to my heart
Didn’t you say you wanted to find me?
Well here I am, here you are
So, What now?
What will you do now that you found Me?
What now?
What will you do with this treasure you’ve found?
I know I may not look like what you expected
But if you remember this is right where I said I would be
You’ve found me
What now?

My heart aches for the orphans of the world.  Praying.

2 responses »

  1. Dwan, wow. You know this TUGs at my heart and prayers. Wow. Wow. I’m speechless. The Holy Spirit may speak in numerous different ways, and your sweet poem was one of them. I was just talking to Cindy & Catherine tonight about my “Emaline Joy” (my name for a little girl) — and if she would ever exist. Cindy said, “She may already exist” . and then I read your poem. Tears.

  2. That is a beautiful song, but a challenging one as well, because there are soooo many orphans in the world, and so once we really see them, the question becomes: well, what now? I am not in a stage of life to adopt right now, although I would love to be someday, and so for now that “what now” question is supporting those who are at that point. But Brittany, I froze when I saw the name you have picked out for your hopefully someday daughter, because I have long set aside the name “Emmaline Hope” for a daughter, were I to adopt from Eastern Europe. I too have recently been stuck with the thought that for me personally, if I am called to adopt an older child, she could already exist, which is a really hard thought.

Leave a Reply

